News

Theft Restitution Cannot Be More Than Maximum Value For The Crime Charged

The defendant entered a plea to a theft of $300 or less charge.  After a restitution hearing the trial court ordered the defendant to pay restitution in the amount of $2,575.93.  The defendant appealed the trial court’s restitution order.  The appeals court ruled that pursuant to sections 775.089(1)(a) and 984.03(1)(e), Florida Statutes (1989), restitution may be ordered only for damage or loss caused directly or indirectly by the defendant’s offense.  The evidence establishes the value of the items defendant was charged with stealing is well in excess of $300, however, because here the convicted offense was theft of items having a value of $300 or less, the maximum value of items for which defendant can be ordered to pay restitution is also $300.

Accordingly, the appeals court quashed the trial court’s restitution order with instructions to limit restitution for the property stolen to $300.  However, because restitution can also include losses caused indirectly by theft, including damage done to the vehicle in effecting the theft of the items and because the appeals court was unable to determine the amount of repair associated with those items, the appeals court remanded the case to the trial court to make that determination and order the corrected amount of restitution.

See Peralta v. State, 596 So.2d 1220 (Fla. 5th DCA 1992)

Driving With A Suspended License Unlawful Stop

The defendant was stopped by a law enforcement officer for the sole purpose of checking the status of his driver’s license.  After the defendant was stopped, the officer obtained the defendants’ driver’s license and discovered it was suspended.  The defendant was arrested and charged with driving with a suspended license.  The defendant moved the trial court to suppress all the evidence from the stop.  The trial court denied the defendant’s motion to suppress.  The defendant appealed and ultimately the Florida Supreme Court ruled that “when, as in the instant case, an officer unlawfully stops the defendant solely to determine whether or she is driving with a suspended license, that the officer’s post-stop observation of the defendant behind the wheel must be suppressed.

See State v. Perkins, 760 S0.2d 85 (Fla. 2000)

Jury Must Make A Separate Finding Of Battery Being Domestic Violence

The defendant was charged with domestic violence battery in violation of sections 784.03(1) and 741.283, Florida Statutes (2018).  Section 741.283 establishes minimum terms of imprisonment for those adjudicated guilty of a crime of domestic violence as defined in section 741.28, Florida Statutes.  The charging document described the victim as a family or household member of the defendant.  The trial court’s instruction to the jury was as follows: “To prove the crime of battery, the State must prove the following element beyond a reasonable doubt: Defendant actually and intentionally touched or struck the victim against her will.  An intentional touching or striking includes situations where a defendant knows that a touch or strike is substantially certain to result from his or her act.”  The jury found the defendant guilty of battery as charged.  After the verdict and the dismissal of the jury, the trial court found that the battery was a crime of domestic violence.  The defendant filed an appeal.

According to the appeals court a domestic violence designation under section 741.28(2), Florida Statutes (2018) triggers mandatory minimum sentences under section 741.283, Florida Statutes (2018).  In this case, the facts necessary to a “domestic violence” designation are (1) a battery, (2) where the victim is a “family or household member” of the defendant, and (3) the battery resulted in physical injury or death of the victim.  See section 741.28(2), Florida Statutes (2018).  Section 741.283(1)(a), Florida Statutes (2018) describes the mandatory minimum sentences for first, second, and third or subsequent domestic violence offenses and requires that the defendant has “intentionally caused bodily harm to another person”.  Here, the jury was charged only on misdemeanor battery.  It was not asked to make findings regarding bodily harm or injury of the victim or the victim’s status as a family or household member of the defendant.  Therefore, the trial judge was precluded from making the domestic violence finding on her own.

See Bethea v. State, 319 So.3d 666 (Fla. 5th DCA 2021)

No Violation Of Probation If The State Only Proves An Arrest

The defendant was placed on probation.  The State filed an affidavit charging the defendant with a violation of probation for “failing to live and remain at liberty without violating the law”.  At the violation of probation hearing, the defendant testified that he had had contact with law enforcement and that he faxed a copy of the citation he received for driving with a suspended license to his probation officer.  At the time of the violation of probation hearing the driving with a suspended license charge was still pending.  A copy of the citation was submitted into evidence.  When ask if he was driving on the date of the citation the defendant asserted his Fifth Amendment right to remain silent and did not answer.  The defendant’s probation officer testified that the defendant had notified him of the contact with law enforcement, and that he had requested to see the citation to see if it was a criminal or civil citation.   Upon consideration of this evidence the trial court ruled that the defendant was in violation of his probation.  The defendant filed an appeal.

The appeals court ruled the State did not show that the defendant committed any new crime, but instead, simply submitted evidence that the defendant had contact with a law enforcement officer.  It is improper to revoke probation based solely upon proof that the probationer had been arrested.  The State did not show that the elements of the crime of driving while license suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified were met.  See section 322.24(2), Florida Statutes (2010). License suspension, knowledge of the license suspension, and actual driving are the requisite elements of the crime of driving while license suspended.  The State did not prove that the defendant’s license was suspended, that the defendant had knowledge of the suspension, or even that the defendant had been driving on the date of the alleged infraction.  The defendant’s admission to having contact with law enforcement and receipt of a traffic infraction were not sufficient to show that the defendant violated any law. Consequently, since the evidence was insufficient to prove that a crime was committed, it was an error for the trial court to find the defendant to have violated probation.

See Prater v. State, 161 So.3d 489 (Fla. 5th DCA 2014)

No Violation Of Probation For Getting A Traffic Ticket Or Citation

The defendant was placed on probation.  The State filed an affidavit charging the defendant with a violation of probation for “failing to live and remain at liberty without violating the law”.  At the violation of probation hearing, the defendant testified that he had had contact with law enforcement and that he faxed a copy of the citation he received for driving with a suspended license to his probation officer.  At the time of the violation of probation hearing the driving with a suspended license charge was still pending.  A copy of the citation was submitted into evidence.  When ask if he was driving on the date of the citation the defendant asserted his Fifth Amendment right to remain silent and did not answer.  The defendant’s probation officer testified that the defendant had notified him of the contact with law enforcement, and that he had requested to see the citation to see if it was a criminal or civil citation.   Upon consideration of this evidence the trial court ruled that the defendant was in violation of his probation.  The defendant filed an appeal.

The appeals court ruled the State did not show that the defendant committed any new crime, but instead, simply submitted evidence that the defendant had contact with a law enforcement officer.  It is improper to revoke probation based solely upon proof that the probationer had been arrested.  The State did not show that the elements of the crime of driving while license suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified were met.  See section 322.24(2), Florida Statutes (2010). License suspension, knowledge of the license suspension, and actual driving are the requisite elements of the crime of driving while license suspended.  The State did not prove that the defendant’s license was suspended, that the defendant had knowledge of the suspension, or even that the defendant had been driving on the date of the alleged infraction.  The defendant’s admission to having contact with law enforcement and receipt of a traffic infraction were not sufficient to show that the defendant violated any law. Consequently, since the evidence was insufficient to prove that a crime was committed, it was an error for the trial court to find the defendant to have violated probation.

See Prater v. State, 161 So.3d 489 (Fla. 5th DCA 2014)

No Violation Of Probation For Contact With Law Enforcement

The defendant was placed on probation.  The State filed an affidavit charging the defendant with a violation of probation for “failing to live and remain at liberty without violating the law”.  At the violation of probation hearing, the defendant testified that he had had contact with law enforcement and that he faxed a copy of the citation he received for driving with a suspended license to his probation officer.  At the time of the violation of probation hearing the driving with a suspended license charge was still pending.  A copy of the citation was submitted into evidence.  When ask if he was driving on the date of the citation the defendant asserted his Fifth Amendment right to remain silent and did not answer.  The defendant’s probation officer testified that the defendant had notified him of the contact with law enforcement, and that he had requested to see the citation to see if it was a criminal or civil citation.   Upon consideration of this evidence the trial court ruled that the defendant was in violation of his probation.  The defendant filed an appeal.

The appeals court ruled the State did not show that the defendant committed any new crime, but instead, simply submitted evidence that the defendant had contact with a law enforcement officer.  It is improper to revoke probation based solely upon proof that the probationer had been arrested.  The State did not show that the elements of the crime of driving while license suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified were met.  See section 322.24(2), Florida Statutes (2010). License suspension, knowledge of the license suspension, and actual driving are the requisite elements of the crime of driving while license suspended.  The State did not prove that the defendant’s license was suspended, that the defendant had knowledge of the suspension, or even that the defendant had been driving on the date of the alleged infraction.  The defendant’s admission to having contact with law enforcement and receipt of a traffic infraction were not sufficient to show that the defendant violated any law. Consequently, since the evidence was insufficient to prove that a crime was committed, it was an error for the trial court to find the defendant to have violated probation.

See Prater v. State, 161 So.3d 489 (Fla. 5th DCA 2014)

No Violation Of Probation If The Improper Conduct Is Not In The VOP Affidavit

The defendant was placed on probation for drug possession.  The defendant was charged with violating probation for purchasing/possessing pseudoephedrine.  The defendant filed a motion to dismiss the violation of probation because the rules of the defendant’s probation said the defendant could not take any over counter medication containing pseudoephedrine and the violation of probation affidavit alleged that the defendant “purchased/possessed” pseudoephedrine.  The probation rules prohibited the defendant from taking any over the counter medication containing pseudoephedrine but the defendant was charged with violating his probation by purchasing/possessing pseudoephedrine.  Therefore, according to the probation rules the defendant could purchase over the counter medication containing pseudoephedrine and could possess over the counter medication containing pseudoephedrine the defendant just could not “take” any over the counter medication with pseudoephedrine.  The motion to dismiss was denied by the trial court.  After a violation of probation hearing the trial court found the defendant in violation of probation and sentenced the defendant.  The defendant appealed.

The appeals court stated that an affidavit for violation of probation must allege the basic facts concerning the alleged violation such as its nature, time and place of occurrence.  According to the appeals court because the violation of probation affidavit alleged that the defendant “purchased/possessed pseudoephedrine and only “taking” any over the counter medication containing pseudoephedrine was prohibited by the defendant’s probation rules the defendant was improperly found to be in violation of probation by the trial court.  The appeals court stated that the trial court improperly based the violation of probation on a charge that was not alleged in the violation of probation affidavit.

See Little v. State, 143 So.3d 465 (Fla. 5th DCA 2014)

No Violation Of Probation If New Crime Alleged Is Not Proven

The defendant was placed on probation.  The State alleged that the defendant violation his probation by committing a new law violation, loitering and prowling.  After a violation of probation hearing the trial court found the defendant in violation for committing the new law violation of loitering and prowling and sentenced the defendant.  The defendant appealed the trial court’s finding of a violation of probation.

At the violation of probation hearing the State only introduced evidence from the electronic monitoring device that the defendant was wearing that the defendant had been in or near a neighbors yard.  According to section 856.021, Florida Statute (2014) it is loitering and prowling and therefore it is unlawful for “any person to loiter or prowl in a place, at a time or in a manner not usual for law abiding individuals, under circumstances that warrant a justifiable and reasonable alarm or immediate concern for the safety of persons or property in the vicinity”.  Since the State failed to prove the crime of loitering and prowling at the violation of probation hearing it was unlawful for the trial court to find the defendant violated probation.

See Acevedo v. State, 200 So.3d 196 (Fla. 5th DCA 2016)

Violation Of Probation Sentencing For Additional Offenses

When a defendant is to be sentenced upon a revocation of probation and prior to that revocation of probation the trial court’s jurisdiction over one or more of the originally sentenced offenses has expired, may the offenses over which the trial court no longer has jurisdiction be scored as additional offenses?  According to the Florida Supreme Court “Offenses over which the trial court no longer has jurisdiction cannot be scored as additional offenses during a sentencing proceeding following a violation of probation because they do not fit the definition of “additional offenses” set out in section 921.0021, Florida Statutes (1999).”

See Sanders V. State, 35 So.3d 864 (Fla. 2010)

No Violation Of Probation For Failure To Pay Without Ability And Refusal

The defendant was placed on probation and as a condition of probation ordered to pay restitution. The defendant was ordered to make monthly restitution payments.  A violation of probation affidavit was filed alleging that the defendant failed to make the required monthly restitution payments and was behind in paying cost of supervision as well.  At the violation of probation hearing one probation officer testified the defendant was informed of the terms of his probation, including both the restitution payment obligation and the obligation to pay a monthly cost of supervision.  A second probation office testified that the defendant was behind on both restitution and cost of supervision.  The defense presented no witnesses. The trial court found the defendant in violation of probation and sentenced the defendant.  The defendant appealed the trial court’s violation of probation finding.

 

The Florida Supreme Court found that before a probationer can be imprisoned for failure to pay a monetary obligation such as restitution, the trial court must inquire into a probationer’s ability to pay and make an explicit finding of willfulness based on the greater weight of the evidence.  Further, in all probation revocation proceedings in which the violation alleged is a failure to pay a monetary obligation as a condition of probation, the State must present sufficient evidence of the probationer’s willfulness, which includes evidence on the ability to pay, to support the trial court’s finding of willfulness.  After evidence of willfulness is introduced by the State, the burden may then be properly shifted to the probationer to assert an inability to pay.  However, it is unconstitutional to require the probationer to prove inability to pay by clear and convincing evidence, a burden higher than the burden required of the State to prove the violation of probation.

 

See Del Valle v. State, 80 So.3d 999 (Fla. 2012)

Lack Of Injuries And Domestic Violence Charges

When defending someone against domestic violence charges a lack of injuries on the victim and the presence of injuries on the arrested person is helpful as a sign of false domestic violence allegations. A lack of injuries on the victim in a place where injuries should be easily seen is also a sign of false domestic violence allegations.  Also, injuries in locations where they do not match up with the victims story like injuries to a leg when the victims story is that they were punched in the face is a sign of false domestic violence allegations.  When victims lie about what happened sometimes they forget to match up the injuries or lack of injuries with the lie.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

False Allegations And Domestic Violence Charges

There are many reasons why someone makes a false allegation of domestic violence in Seminole County, Florida.  The most common reason is because they are actually the person who is guilty of domestic violence but they do not want to go to jail so they accuse the other person of domestic violence.  Domestic violence allegations can also be made for revenge like for believing that someone is cheating or because someone owes the other person money.  Another reason is to get an advantage in a pending divorce with child custody issues, child support issues, alimony issues and other monetary issues.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Divorce And Domestic Violence Charges

Divorce is a stressful situation.  People do not get divorced because they are in agreement over things like money and children.  Divorce proceedings can lead to further disagreements about money and child custody issues.  One parent may seek to make a false domestic violence claim in order to gain an advantage in the divorce regarding child support and child custody.  The purpose of this false domestic violence allegation can be to get the other person out of the house, to prevent the other person from seeing his or her children and therefore to get more child support as a result of having full custody of the child or children.  False domestic violence allegations can also be made to justify alimony in divorce proceedings.  Many issues have to be decided in a divorce case and accusing the other side of domestic violence charges can be an improper way to get an advantage in the divorce case.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Defense Of Others For Domestic Violence Charges

In Florida, according to Florida Statute 776.012(1) a person is justified in using or threatening to use force, except deadly force, against another when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that such conduct is necessary to defend himself or herself or another against the other’s imminent use of unlawful force.  A person who uses or threatens to use force in accordance with this subsection does not have a duty to retreat before using or threatening to use such force.

In Florida, according to Florida Statute 776.012(2) a person is justified in using or threatening to use deadly force if he or she reasonably believes that using or threatening to use such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or bodily harm to himself or herself or another or to prevent the imminent commission of a forceable felony.  A person who uses or threatens to use deadly force in accordance with this subsection does not have a duty to retreat and has the right to stand his or her ground if the person using or threatening to use the deadly force is not engaged in a criminal activity and is in a place where he or she has a right to be.

If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Self Defense For Domestic Violence Charges

In Florida, according to Florida Statute 776.012(1) a person is justified in using or threatening to use force, except deadly force, against another when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that such conduct is necessary to defend himself or herself or another against the other’s imminent use of unlawful force.  A person who uses or threatens to use force in accordance with this subsection does not have a duty to retreat before using or threatening to use such force.

In Florida, according to Florida Statute 776.012(2) a person is justified in using or threatening to use deadly force if he or she reasonably believes that using or threatening to use such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or bodily harm to himself or herself or another or to prevent the imminent commission of a forceable felony.  A person who uses or threatens to use deadly force in accordance with this subsection does not have a duty to retreat and has the right to stand his or her ground if the person using or threatening to use the deadly force is not engaged in a criminal activity and is in a place where he or she has a right to be.

If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

The Victim Does Not Want To Press Charges But The State Of Florida Files The Charges Anyway

The State of Florida files domestic violence charges many times when the victim does not want domestic violence charges filed against the arrested person.  Just because the State of Florida files domestic violence charges does not mean they are going to get a conviction.  It is easier to file domestic violence charges than it is to prove those domestic violence charges with evidence beyond and to the exclusion of any reasonable doubt.  There are many defenses to domestic violence charges.  A conviction for domestic violence charges may negatively affect the rest of the life of a person.  If someone is charged with domestic violence charges they need an experienced domestic violence defense lawyer defending them.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Do I Need A Lawyer In A Domestic Violence Case

Many people believe that since the victim does not want to prosecute that the charges will be dropped so why waste money on a lawyer.  The victim does not get to decide if the State of Florida files charges or not.  I have represented many people who did not hire a lawyer prior to domestic violence charges being filed and then called me after the domestic violence charges were filed.  Unfortunately, once domestic violence charges have been filed they can not be unfiled.  It is better to have domestic violence charges not filed by the State of Florida against you then it is to have charges filed by the State of Florida against you and dropped later.  Ask yourself this simple question “Do I have a better chance of domestic violence charges not being filed against me by the State of Florida if I have an experienced domestic violence defense lawyer?”  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

When To Hire A Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer

I am often ask when is the best time to hire a lawyer when someone has been arrested for domestic violence charges in Florida.  IMMEDIATELY.  When a person is arrested in Florida for domestic violence charges they are taken to jail and held with no bond until they see a judge at an initial appearance hearing.  At the initial appearance hearing the judge will determine what the amount of the bond will be and what the conditions of release on that bond will be.  Having an experienced domestic violence defense lawyer present at the initial appearance hearing can have an affect on the amount of the bond and if the person is going to be allowed to have contact with the victim and go home.  If the judge orders no contact with the victim and no return to the residence of the victim at the initial appearance hearing it will be at least a week and normally longer before a lawyer can get a hearing to ask for those conditions of release to be modified.  If an experienced domestic violence defense lawyer and the victim are present at the initial appearance hearing then the arrested person has a much better chance of being able to have contact with the victim and to return to the residence with the victim if that is what the victim wants.  The State of Florida is going to have a lawyer there against the arrested person so the arrested person better have one there for them.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Victim Letter To The Judge Requesting A Modification Of Bond Conditions

Once set by the court at the initial appearance hearing the bond conditions in the case like no contact with the victim and no return to the residence of the victim will remain in place for the length of the case not just until the next court date.  Cases in the criminal justice system can take months and sometimes years to resolve.  The victim sending a letter to the judge requesting that the arrested person be allowed to have contact with the victim and return to the residence of the victim is a waste of time because it is not the proper procedure for modifying bond conditions.  No changes to the bond conditions as a result of that letter will occur.  The criminal justice system has rules and you have to follow the rules or no changes to the bond conditions will be made.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Victim Letter To The Prosecutor Requesting A Modification Of Bond Conditions

Once set by the court at initial appearance the bond conditions in the case like no contact with the victim, no return to the residence of the victim will remain in place for the length of the case not just until the next court date.  Cases in the criminal justice system can take months and sometimes years to resolve.  The victim sending a letter to the prosecutor requesting that the arrested person be allowed to have contact with the victim and return to the residence of the victim is a waste of time because it is not the proper procedure for modifying bond conditions.  No changes to the bond conditions as a result of that letter will occur.  Prosecutors normally do not even respond to letters from the victim requesting modifications of bond conditions like no contact with the victim and no return to the residence of the victim.  If you call the prosecutor and ask for it to be done you will normally be told that prosecutors do not do that and that the lawyer for the arrested person does that.  The criminal justice system has rules and you have to follow the rules or no changes to the bond conditions will be made.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Sentencing For Domestic Violence Charges

Florida law requires that if a person is adjudicated guilty of a crime of domestic violence and the person has intentionally caused bodily harm to another person, the court shall order that person to serve a minimum of 10 days in jail in the county jail or state prison for a first offense, 15 days for a second offense, and 20 days for a third or subsequent offense as part of the sentence imposed.

Florida law also requires that if a person is found guilty of a crime of domestic violence that person shall be ordered by the court to a minimum term of 1 year of probation.  The imposition of probation by the court does not preclude the court from imposing any sentence of imprisonment allowed.

Florida law in addition requires that if a person is found guilty of a crime of domestic violence that the person be required to attend and complete, at the persons expense, a batterers intervention program (which shall be at least 29 weeks in length and include 24 weekly sessions, plus appropriate intake, assessment and orientation programming) as a condition of the mandatory 1 year of probation.

In addition to the above-mentioned mandatory minimums in a domestic violence case the judge can impose up to the maximum period of jail or prison for the charge or charges and up to the maximum period of probation for the charge or charges.  Also the judge can require additional sanctions like community service, a substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment, random drug testing, a mental health evaluation and any recommended treatment, cost of investigation, cost of prosecution and court costs.

If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Conviction For Domestic Violence Charges

If at the end of the trial the jury finds you guilty of a domestic violence charge or charges in Florida then the judge will decide what an appropriate sentence is.  This decision is based on many factors including the evidence at the trial and any prior criminal history.  The judge will listen to arguments from the prosecutor.  If the victim wants to be heard prior to sentencing the judge will listen to testimony from the victim regarding what the victim thinks the sentence should be.  The judge will also listen to arguments from the defendant’s lawyer and testimony from the defendant and any other witnesses and evidence the defendant wants to present that is relevant to determining an appropriate sentence in the case.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Trials For Domestic Violence Charges

Most domestic violence cases in Florida do not end up being a trial, however, when a case is going to be a trial it is important to be properly prepared if you want to win.  Representation by an experienced domestic violence defense lawyer can give a person a better chance of winning in a domestic violence case.  Most people have seen some version of a trial on television or in a movie so most people have some idea of what a trial is like in a domestic violence case.  In a trial for domestic violence charges the State of Florida has the burden to prove a person guilty beyond and to the exclusion of every reasonable doubt.  Florida law does not require the victim be injured or even touched for a person to be convicted of some domestic violence charges.  Florida law also does not require actual physical evidence like videos or pictures.  Verbal testimony as to a crime by the victim is enough for a conviction for a domestic violence charge or charges.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Jury Selection For Domestic Violence Charges

A domestic violence trial in Florida begins with jury selection.  A group of potential jurors is brought into the courtroom and each side has an opportunity to ask potential jurors questions to determine if a person is someone that one side wants to be on the jury to decide the case.  This is called voir dire.  Each side has what is called challenges which allows them to exclude a person from being on the jury to decide the case.  There are two types of challenges, challenges for cause and peremptory challenges.  Challenges for cause can be used for many reasons but are normally used because the person is not able to be fair and impartial as a juror in the case. Challenges for cause are unlimited for both sides.  Peremptory challenges can be exercised by each side for any reason as long as the reason is race neutral.  Peremptory challenges are limited in number for both sides, but the same number for each side.  An example of a challenge for cause would be because the potential juror is a friend of one of the law enforcement officers who is going to testify in the case.  An example of a peremptory challenge in a case is because the person has a family member who was a victim of domestic violence and has donated money to a domestic violence shelter in a case where the case involves domestic violence charges.  This potential juror may be able to be struck for cause for not being able to be fair and impartial in the case but if not this is the type of juror a defendant would want to use a peremptory challenge on to exclude them from being a juror in the trial. Jury selection is a very important part of a trial in a domestic violence case.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Pretrial Conference For Domestic Violence Charges

In a domestic violence case in Florida the next court appearance after the arraignment hearing is a pretrial conference hearing.  The pretrial conference hearing is the opportunity for the judge to find out what the status of the domestic violence case is.  The judge wants to know if a plea agreement has been reached or if the case needs to be set for trial.  If a plea agreement has been reached then sometimes the judge will do the plea and sentencing right then and sometimes the judge will require the plea and sentence be set for a future date.  If the case is going to be set for trial the judge is going to want to know information about the trial.  The judge is going to want to know how many prospective jurors will be needed for jury selection, how many days the trial is expected to last, how many witnesses each side intends on calling to testify, if there are any pretrial motions that need to be resolved before the jury selection and any other matters that either side needs to address before the trial.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence Charges Arraignment

In a domestic violence case in Florida the next court appearance after the initial appearance hearing is the arraignment hearing.  Arraignment is the arrested person’s opportunity to answer to the domestic violence charges.  The options are not guilty, guilty and nolo contendere (no contest).  If you plead not guilty to domestic violence charges the judge will set your case for a future court date to discuss your case and the judge will normally ask you if you are going to hire a lawyer to represent you in the case.  If you plead guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) to domestic violence charges the judge will ask the prosecutor what the State of Florida is recommending as a sentence in the case and the judge will ask you if you have anything to say prior to sentencing.  If the judge gives you a jail or prison sentence you will normally be placed in custody right then.  You will leave the courtroom in handcuffs to start serving the jail or prison sentence.  Most people who go to arraignment do not plan on going to jail or prison right then but if you plead guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) at arraignment and the judge accepts the plea and then imposes a jail or prison sentence in your case you cannot then say no I changed my mind I do not want to go to jail or prison it is to late.  This is one of many reasons why people hire lawyers.  If you are being represented by a lawyer normally before you enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) a sentence agreement will have been reached with the prosecutor as a result of plea negotiations.  While the judge needs to also agree to this negotiated sentence for it to be your sentence in the case you will have an idea of what the sentence in your case will be instead of not knowing and not being able to change your plea to not guilty if the judge sentences you to jail or prison.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Modifications Of Conditions Of Release For Domestic Violence Charges

There is a proper procedure for having a hearing to request the court to modify conditions of release for domestic violence charges in Florida.  If you would like to have a hearing to request that your conditions of release be modified then a proper motion must be filed detailing your specific request with the clerk of court and a copy of that motion must be sent to the prosecutor, you must get proposed hearing time from the judicial assistant, you have to coordinate that hearing time with the prosecutor, then you have to confirm the agreed upon hearing time with the judicial assistant and then you have to file a notice of hearing and serve it on the prosecutor and depending on the judicial assistant also provided a courtesy copy of the motion and notice of hearing to the judicial assistant.  This is an involved process which is why many people hire lawyers experienced in handling motions to modify conditions of release in domestic violence cases.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence Release Conditions

When a court in Florida sets the conditions of release at the initial appearance hearing these conditions of release will exist until the case is over not just until the next court date which is usually the arraignment hearing.  Many people arrested for a domestic violence charge or charges believe that they can get the no contact with the victim and no return to the residence of the victim conditions of release modified at the arraignment hearing.

The judge for the arraignment hearing is not going to stop in the middle of the arraignments and discuss with the arrested person why the conditions of release in the case should be modified.  The case is not the only case set for an arraignment hearing on that date so the judge normally has many cases to do arraignments for and does have time to stop and deal with release condition modifications in a particular case.  Also, the victim is normally not present at the arraignment hearing for the judge to take testimony to determine what conditions of release the victim feels are necessary for their protection.

Judges do not discuss release conditions at arraignment hearings and if a defendant tries to do that the judge will instruct the defendant that the arraignment hearing is not the correct hearing to discuss a modification of release conditions.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence Initial Appearance Hearing

Initial appearance is the first court hearing after a person is arrested for a domestic violence charge or charges in Florida.  The purpose of the initial appearance hearing is for the court to determine if probable cause exist to justify an arrest for a domestic violence charge or charges, if the arrested person should be given a bond and if so what the bond amount will be and what the conditions of release will be.

To make these determinations the judge normally wants information from the victim on what the conditions of release should be to protect the victim from the arrested person.  The judge normally either gets this information from in person testimony from the victim at the initial appearance hearing or from the prosecutor at the initial appearance hearing who has already called the victim before the initial appearance hearing and discussed with the victim the conditions of release needed to protect the victim from the arrested person.

If the victim is not present at the initial appearance hearing and the prosecutor has not been able to speak to the victim by phone prior to the initial appearance hearing then the judge will normally order the conditions of release to be no contact with the victim and no return to the residence of the victim.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Mandatory Batterers Intervention Program

If a person is found guilty of, has adjudication withheld on, or pleads nolo contendere to a crime of domestic violence in Florida that person in addition to being ordered by the court to a minimum term of 1 year of probation it shall be ordered by the court that the defendant attend and complete a batterers intervention program as a condition of probation.

A batterers intervention program must meet the following requirements:

(1)The primary purpose of the program shall be victim safety and safety of children, if present.

(2)The batterer shall be held accountable for acts of domestic violence.

(3)The program shall be at least 29 weeks in length and include 24 weekly sessions, plus appropriate intake, assessment, and orientation.

(4)The program content shall be based on a cognitive behavioral therapy model or psychoeducational model that addresses tactics of power and control by one person over another.

(5)The program shall be funded by user fees paid by the batterers who attend the program, which allows them to take full responsibility for their acts of violence.  An exception shall be made for local, state, or federal programs that fund batterers intervention programs in whole or in part.

 

If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Mandatory Probation For Domestic Violence Charges

If a person is found guilty of, has adjudication withheld on, or pleads nolo contendere to a crime of domestic violence in Florida that person shall be ordered by the court to a minimum term of 1 year probation.  The imposition of probation by the court does not preclude the court from imposing any sentence of imprisonment allowed.  So as an example for a first degree misdemeanor sentence, which is punishable by a maximum of 1 year in jail, 1 year on probation and a $1,000.00 fine the judge could sentence you to 30 days in jail, 1 year of probation, $500.00 fine, Batterer’s Intervention Program(which shall be at least 29 weeks in length and include 24 weekly sessions, plus appropriate intake, assessment and orientation programming), community service, cost of investigation, cost of prosecution and court costs.  The judge can also impose other special conditions of your probation like no contact with the victim and no return to your residence during the required 1 year of probation.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Mandatory Jail For Domestic Violence Charges

In Florida the law requires that if a person is adjudicated guilty of a crime of domestic violence and the person has intentionally caused bodily harm to another person, the court shall order that person to serve a minimum of 10 days in jail in the county jail or state prison for a first offense, 15 days for a second offense, and 20 days for a third or subsequent offense as part of the sentence imposed.  These jail or prison sentences are mandatory minimums so that means the judge can not sentence you to less but can sentence you to more up to the maximum jail of prison sentence for the domestic violence charge or charges.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

The Independent Witness In A Domestic Violence Case

The “independent witness” in a domestic violence case in Florida is usually not independent.  To be considered an independent witness the person should not know any of the parties involved in the domestic violence incident and not have any reason to favor one person involved in the incident over another.  The independent witness in a domestic violence incident is usually a third party who is a friend or family member of one of the people involved in the incident.  If you think about it this makes perfect sense because most domestic violence incidents occur inside a home.  Why would a stranger who does not know either person involved the domestic violence incident be inside their home at the time of the incident?  An actual independent witness to a domestic violence incident is rare.  Unfortunately, law enforcement officers talk to these not independent witnesses that the officers call independent witnesses all the time and often times rely heavily on them to determine which party to believe about what happened in the domestic violence incident and, consequently who is going to jail for a domestic violence charge or charges.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence Silence Causes An Arrest

When officers in Florida arrive at a domestic violence 911 call they separate the parties and try to figure out what happened.  Most people have heard some version of the Miranda rights on television.

Miranda rights:

You have the right to remain silent.

Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law.

You have the right to an attorney.

If you can not afford an attorney one will be provided for you.

Do you understand the rights I have just read to you?

With these rights in mind do you wish to speak to me?

The reality is if you refuse to speak to the officers and the other party does speak to them and says you committed a crime you are going to jail.  Officers view silence as guilt.  “If you did not do anything wrong, then what do you have to hide” is what officers say.  According to officers someone refusing to cooperate with them must be because they are guilty of something. So maybe that first sentence of the Miranda rights should say, “You have the right to remain silent but that silence will be held against you when we are deciding who to arrest”.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence Primary Aggressor

When officers arrive to a domestic violence 911 call in Florida they usually separate the two people involved in the incident to try to determine who was the “primary aggressor”.  The primary aggressor is the person who is getting arrested for domestic violence.  Unfortunately, the investigation is usually short and not very detailed and ends up being the officers guess at who hit who first.  This is where it helps to be nice with the officers because based on my experience the person that is less cooperative with the officers or hostile towards the officers is going to be labeled the primary aggressor and arrested.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence Child Abuse Charges If Children Are Present

Officers in Florida can charge parents with domestic violence child abuse if your children are present during a domestic violence incident.  The domestic violence child abuse charge or charges are in addition to any other domestic violence charges from the incident.  The theory is that witnessing domestic violence by one or both of your parents harms the child’s mental health and, therefore, that harm constitutes domestic violence child abuse.  Unlike domestic violence battery, which is normally a misdemeanor, domestic violence child abuse is a felony.  Additionally, the Florida Department of Children and Families is going to get notified by the officers of the incident and they will conduct an investigation to determine what they believe needs to be done to protect the children.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence With Children Present

When the police are called for a domestic violence incident in Florida someone is usually going to get arrested. Even if both people involved are determined by officers to have committed an act or acts of domestic violence only one will be arrested.  If children are present officers are usually not interested in waiting around for the Florida Department of Children and Families to arrive and take custody of the child or children.  Normally, the “primary aggressor”, a term I repeatedly see used in police reports by officers, will get arrested and taken to jail and the officers will leave the other person with the child or children.  The “primary aggressor” is whoever the officers think committed the first act of domestic violence in the incident.  The arresting officer will normally request the prosecutor to file charges also against the person who was not arrested if the arresting officer determines that person also committed an act or acts of domestic violence.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence Victim Or Domestic Violence Defendant, Or Both

Sometimes when law enforcement officers in Florida show up for a domestic violence 911 call and they determine both people committed an act or acts of domestic violence they arrest both people for domestic violence charges.  This however is not normal. Officers are actually discouraged from arresting both people involved because it makes the case harder for the prosecutor to get a conviction for either defendant.  That is why officers will normally try to determine who struck first and then label that person as the “primary aggressor” and arrest that person only.  The arresting officer will normally request the prosecutor to also file criminal charges against the other person who was not arrested.  So both people end up with a criminal charge or charges from the police, one just does not have to go through the unpleasant experience of being arrested.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

You Called The Police As A Domestic Violence Victim And Now You Are Going To Jail, Wait, What?

It is very common for the person who called the police as a domestic violence victim to also be the person who goes to jail for domestic violence charges in Florida.  It does not matter who calls the police first in a domestic violence case. First to the phone does not win.  I have represented many individuals who called 911 to report being the victim of domestic violence who were instead arrested for committing domestic violence instead of the person they called to have arrested.  The police try to determine who the primary aggressor was in the incident and that is who gets arrested.  The police do not always arrest the right person.  Officers are discouraged from arresting both parties because it creates problems for the prosecutor in the domestic violence prosecution.  The reward for winning the race to the phone sometimes involves a pair of handcuffs, for the person who called 911 first.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Domestic Violence Arrest Bond

When someone is arrested for a domestic violence charge in Florida they are required by law to be held in jail with no bond until they see a judge at an initial appearance.  A bond is the amount of money the court requires in order for the person to be released from jail.  The bond amount for a domestic violence charge usually also has additional conditions of release attached.  So it is not just pay money, it is pay money and follow rules also.  These additional rules usually include no contact with the victim and no return to your residence.  These additional conditions of release can be modified by a judge at a later date if a proper motion is filed with the court requesting the additional conditions be modified.  The victim sending a letter to the judge requesting that the arrested person be allowed to have contact with the victim and return to their residence is a waste of time because it is not the proper procedure for modifying bond conditions.  No changes to the bond conditions as a result of that letter will occur.  The criminal justice system has rules and you have to follow the rules or no changes will be made.  If you would like to discuss how I can help, the consultation is free.  Please call me at 407-740-8300, text me at 407-616-8808 or email me at chris@theorlandodefenselawyer.com.

Attaching Tag Not Assigned Florida Uniform Traffic Citation

A Florida Uniform Traffic Citation charging someone with Attaching A Tag Not Assigned is a criminal charge in Florida.  That is why the Florida Uniform Traffic Citation has a court date and time on it.  A Florida Uniform Traffic Citation for Attaching A Tag Not Assigned is NOT a civil citation like a traffic ticket.  The Florida Uniform Traffic Citation is the officer’s way of charging a person with a criminal traffic offense without having to arrest the person and take them to jail.  Officers can issue a Florida Uniform Traffic Citation for criminal traffic offenses like Attaching A Tag Not Assigned.  If you do not appear in court as required a warrant may be issued for your arrest.

At the first court appearance the person issued the Florida Uniform Traffic Citation will be required to enter a plea to the Attaching A Tag Not Assigned charge.  The options are not guilty, guilty or nolo contendere(no contest).  If the person enters a plea of not guilty they will be given another court date and the judge will ask the person if they are hiring a lawyer or representing themselves.  If the person pleads guilty or no contest then the judge will impose a sentence.  Since this is a criminal charge a plea of guilty or no contest will remain on your record for the rest of your life.  Attaching A Tag Not Assigned is a second degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail, up to 6 months on probation and up to a $500 fine.  The judge can also include in the sentence driving classes, community service, cost of investigation, cost of prosecution and court cost.

The mistakes the officer made in your case can mean the difference between a conviction and a dismissal.  Officers are trained to follow the law and to conduct investigations properly but everyone makes mistakes, including police officers.  Chris is a former prosecutor who has over 18 years experience defending people charged with Attaching A Tag Not Assigned.  Attaching A Tag Not Assigned charges can be beaten for many reasons.  The consultation is free so call 407-740-8300 or email Chris at chris@TheOrlandoDefenseLawyer.com to find out how Chris can help you.

What Is The Definition Of Domestic Violence In Florida?

Domestic Violence means any assault, aggravated assault, battery, aggravated battery, sexual assault, sexual battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, kidnapping, false imprisonment, or any criminal offense resulting in physical injury or death of one family or household member by another family or household member.  Family or household member means spouses, former spouses, person related by blood or marriage, persons who are presently residing together as if a family or who have resided together in the past as if a family, and persons who are parents of a child in common regardless of whether they have been married.  With the exception of persons who have a child in common, the family or household members must be currently residing or have in the past resided together in the same single dwelling unit.

What Should Someone Do Who Has Been Arrested And Taken to Jail For Domestic Violence Charges

If you have been arrested for a domestic violence charge please contact Chris S. Boatright, P.A. at 407-740-8300 to discuss your case.  Chris is a former domestic violence prosecutor who has been defending people with domestic violence charges for over 18 years.  Why not put his domestic violence defense knowledge and experience to work for you.

Don’t let domestic violence charges ruin your life.  Domestic violence charges can be beaten for many reasons.  Chris has beaten them for many clients in the past and he may be able to beat them for you.  Call 407-740-8300 for a free consultation.

Does Someone Have To Go To Jail In A Domestic Violence Case In Florida?

Someone Is Going To Jail

When law enforcement officers respond to a call regarding domestic violence they come with the presumption that someone is going to get arrested and go to jail.  So once the officers arrive it is normally just a matter of figuring out who is going to jail for domestic violence charges.  Contrary to what some people believe who call 911 law enforcement officers do not respond to resolve domestic disputes.  They respond to determine if a crime has been committed and to arrest that person or persons and to take them to jail.  Many times the person who called 911 for assistance in a domestic dispute is the person who ultimately ends up getting arrested and going to jail with domestic violence charges even though the 911 caller is really the victim but the law enforcement officers decided to believe the other person’s story.

The Investigation To Determine Who

When law enforcement officers arrive at the scene of a domestic disturbance they traditionally separate the two people and get their stories.  If the stories do not match and they normally do not match then the officers look for physical evidence like injuries and damage to the surrounding area to try to determine what actually happened and if what happened was a crime and if so who committed that crime.  If someone else was present during the incident other than the two people involved then unfortunately when two stories match and there is no contrary physical evidence to that story then whoever that story says committed a crime is going to jail.  I call this sandbox rules two beats one end of story. Unfortunately, sometimes the third person present is biased toward one of the two people like a family member or friend but that usually does not seem to matter to most law enforcement officers, sandbox rules still apply apparently.  Once they determine that a crime was committed they arrest that person committed a crime.  Sometimes that means both people get arrested.

What Should Someone Do Who Has Been Arrested And Taken to Jail For Domestic Violence Charges

If you have been arrested for a domestic violence charge please contact Chris S. Boatright, P.A. at 407-740-8300 to discuss your case.  Chris is a former domestic violence prosecutor who has been defending people with domestic violence charges for over 18 years.  Why not put his domestic violence defense knowledge and experience to work for you.

Don’t let domestic violence charges ruin your life.  Domestic violence charges can be beaten for many reasons.  Chris has beaten them for many clients in the past and he may be able to beat them for you.  Call 407-740-8300 for a free consultation.

Orlando Florida Undercover Prostitution Sting Operation

Super Bowl time in California mean its time for law enforcement to conduct prostitution sting operations. However, California is not the only place that law enforcement recently conducted a prostitution sting operation.  On January 29th and 30th, 2016 the Orange County Sheriff's Office conducted an undercover prostitution sting operation in Orlando, FL in the area of 25th Street and South Orange Blossom Trail.  In Orlando, FL if you plead guilty, no contest, or are convicted at trial for Solicitation to Commit Prostitution there is a mandatory $500 fine plus court costs and a mandatory $5000 civil penalty.  Someone could go to the Super Bowl in California for cheaper than that.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nfl/broncos/2016/02/02/ryan-murphy-denver-super-bowl-50/79730280/

The video, the whole video and nothing but the video

I do not understand why arresting someone and taking them to jail on suspected drug charges is not good enough for some officers.  Why do they feel the need to attack the suspect and beat the suspect for no reason?  I wonder if this incident was not on tape if anyone would have believed the suspect if the officer said he was resisting arrest?  Rodney King was arrested on March 3, 1991, this incident occured on August 7, 2014 and it seems like nothing has changed. 

http://www.wftv.com/videos/news/video-released-of-marion-county-deputies-punching/vDjLdR/

Overcharged

Sounds like a classic case of overcharging someone. According to the article Humberto Santiago was REPOSSESING a car for the owner of a car lot.  Yes, Humberto Santiago, allegedly impersonated an officer and Humberto Santiago allegedly was not licensed to repossess cars but that is not carjacking.  Carjacking is a first degree felony punishable by up to thirty years in prison.

 

http://www.wftv.com/news/news/local/deputies-man-posed-police-officer-steal-mans-car-p/np95D/

Civil Citation Instead Of Arrest for Juveniles

http://www.clickorlando.com/news/orange-osceola-public-defender-pushes-for-fewer-juvenile-arrests

Law enforcement officers need to be trained that juveniles who commit a first time misdemeanor offense can be issued a civil citation instead of arresting the juvenile. This training should encourage officers to issue civil citations instead of making an arrest for juveniles who commit first time misdemeanor offenses.  A civil citation requires a juvenile to perform up to fifty hours of community service, to participate in intervention services like counseling based on the juveniles needs, to write letters of apology to victims and to pay any restitution.  If the juvenile does not complete the civil citation requirements then the juvenile may be prosecuted for the offense. 

Paid Vacation For Officer’s Bad Behavior

It is ridiculous that this officer’s punishment was only being suspended for one day WITH PAY. Basically, the officer’s punishment was a PAID VACATION DAY.  This officer should have at least been suspended WITHOUT PAY until the officer successfully completed an evaluation to determine if the officer has an alcohol problem and if so the officer should have been required to successfully complete an alcohol treatment program and if the officer refused or failed to do so then the officer should have been fired.

 http://www.foxnews.com/us/2015/11/09/florida-cop-too-drunk-to-accept-award-for-dui-arrests/

Marijuana in Florida

If the majority of Americans support the legalization of marijuana then why is it still illegal anywhere in the United States. The United States Constitution says the government, who enacts and enforces the laws, works for the people and, therefore, should do what the people want. So why are we the people still discussing the legalization of medical marijuana instead of questioning why our government refuses to do what the people want which is the legalization of marijuana.

 

www.bizjournals.com/orlando/blog/2015/09/shift-in-public-view-of-pot-may-help-push-for.html

 

New Domestic Violence Hotline for Orlando

It is important to help people who are truly victims of domestic violence and to try to stop domestic violence. There are many articles like this one that discuss that topic. After reading this article I wonder why there is no mention of helping the people who are wrongfully accused of domestic violence and what resources are provided to them for the damage that is caused to their lives by being wrongfully arrested and what is being done to prosecute the wrongful accusers after the arrested person is found not guilty in court. What is the game changing hotline telephone number for help for those who are wrongfully accused of domestic violence?

New hotline could be game changer for domestic violence victims

Free Consultation
Call now!
(407) 740-8300

Available 24/7.
Click here for a free email case evaluation 24/7.